I love that the photo accompanying this placeholder post is a cup of coffee, seeing as it’s the beginning of my blogging venture and a lot of people begin their days with coffee.

I mean, not me, personally – I can’t stand the stuff (that’s enough of your indignant gasping out there!). But a lot of people do – and snaps to them for being able to have proper adult drinks in the morning.
I’ll just sit over here with my porridge and my orange juice and adult at my own pace. Even though it’s 8pm. I can have breakfast at dinner time. I’m an adult. So mneh.

Lately, I quite often find I have a bit of a running narrative nattering away in my mind (I promise they are my thoughts, and I’m not hearing voices), and I’ve felt more and more compelled to actually find a place to get these thoughts down. I’ve kept a diary before, and still sort of do, but in a way, keeping a diary is both cathartic and isolating. You get to vent emotions and ideas and really nut out problems, but in the end, nobody hears it. Therefore, nobody is available to offer support or guidance, or to agree (or disagree) wholeheartedly, or to just say, “Yes. Yes, I’ve been there. You aren’t alone. It’ll be OK.”
I suppose I’m looking for a way to reach out to people, to be heard, to engage socially, and to encourage others to reach out… I think I’m driven in this project by a need to practice my writing skills (fan-fiction aside, it’s been a long time since I’ve actually put some effort into writing, and I used to absolutely love to write). I’m driven by the desire to explore social awkwardness, the quirks of what makes us who we are. I want to promote and share love, laughter, acceptance and equality, and to explore and break down the stigmas surrounding mental illnesses. I want to boost my self-image, my self-confidence, my sense of self completely, and in doing that, embrace myself, flaws and all. I want to explore how my life, and the lives of those closest to me are both so drastically different, and yet still so closely intertwined that they don’t seem so different at all in the end. I want to use examples from my life to hopefully help someone else who may be experiencing similar issues. I want to connect. And what better way to do that than with the interwebs?

Also, I’ll probably share things that I find amusing, and occasionally the odd photo or two taken by me (because I have a lovely fancy camera, so naturally I automatically think I’m a photographer). Just so we’re all on the same page.

I look forward to journeying with you all. If anyone out there is reading this at all. And even then, I still look forward to the journey.

Not all those who wander are lost… Was that Tolkien who said that? I’m giving him the credit for it anyway. If it wasn’t – my bad.

